Maps, Missals, and Eggplant Parmesan

Today began by, once again, looking for that church.  Would it be embarrassing to tell you that I walked in a complete circle and was heading directly back toward the hotel without realizing it?  Yeah, let’s skip that part.  Maybe I should invest in a map.  At any rate, I eventually found the church I was looking for, but was pretty late for Mass.  The church was beautiful!  The first thing I noticed was that there were two Masses going on at once.  Very cool.  [Note to self: get a Roman Missal.]

Santissima Trinità dei Pellegrini

After that, breakfast, studying in the library, and then some exploration!  My roommate and I stumbled upon a really fun market place type thing near the Castel Sant’Angelo.  It was tent after tent of scarves, jewelry, souvenirs, used books, old records, and more!  I think I’ll be going back there.

Used books and LPs!

Lunch today was quite delicious.  No meat on Fridays in this wonderfully Catholic land, so we had a pasta dish with parsley, pine nuts, parmesan, golden raisins, cauliflower, and probably other things, as well as eggplant parmesan (mom, we need to make this sometime!), and breaded fish.

Mysterious, but delicious

This was followed by a panic attack when I went to my room and couldn’t find my wallet for about ten minutes (thanks for helping me find it, St. Anthony!).  And then Archeology, art history, library, and some general hanging out.

Tomorrow is going to be a full day with tours to the Colosseum, the Forum, and the Palatine Hill!  I can’t wait!  It should be very fun…and educational!

One response

  1. A map could be helpful, but only if you plot your route ahead of time so you can keep your goal in mind. Yes on eggplant Parmesan, yes on pine nuts in pasta, maybe on the golden raisins. Have a great first weekend in Rome!

Leave a Reply

